Tonight during church we sang a song in choir called Total Praise by Richard Smallwood. The main portion of the song reads as follows:

 

Lord, I will lift mine eyes to the hills, knowing my help is coming from you. Your peace you give me in times of the storms. You are the source of my strength; you are the strength of my life. I life my hands in total praise to you.

 

As we were singing the song, my mind went to the Psalms 121, (the possible inspiration for the song) and was greatly encouraged.

 

Psalms 121:1 – I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

Here we are encouraged to lift up our eyes, above our troubles, above the issues of life that often weight down on us. This can be as simple as looking to nature to see God’s great creation, or just looking above every day life.

 

Psalms 121:2 – My help cometh from the LORD, which made heaven and earth.

Our help does come from the Lord, he is all powerful and not only does he have the ability to help us, but he wants us to call on his name for help. He is so mighty that he created everything and he has power over all that he made.

 

Psalms 121:3 – He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

He is going to watch care over us. He won’t let us fall off our firm foundation; he will keep us close to him. And he doesn’t sleep; we can rest assured that he is always there watching care over us.

 

Psalms 121:4 – Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.

God’s children are sometimes called Israel, and this is a second confirmation that he is watching over his people.

 

Psalms 121:5 – The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.

He is our, mine, your keeper. We can take him as a personal possession. He is MY keeper. He will keep me. I don’t have to worry about him letting me go, or leaving me behind, he is going to keep me, as I do my best to stay close to him. It also says that they Lord is a shade, he provides rest and comfort. He helps us when we are busy at work and provides the needed rest to continue on.

 

Psalms 121:6 – The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.

This is an example of how the Lord is going to be a shade, or place of rest, He isn’t going to let the elements or things be too much for us. This is not to say that trials will never come against us and life will be easy, but that God is providing the comfort and rest needed when life comes at us. However we can rest assure that our trials won’t be too much for us to handle, because…

 

Psalms 121:7 – The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.

What ever comes against us, the Lord is going to preserve us and our soul. Again, this isn’t saying that we will never come in contact with evil, but that the Lord is going to preserve us. He won’t let our trials take us out, he is promising that he will give us the strength to make it through the trial, physically and spiritually.

 

Psalms 121:8 – The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

The Lord is going to keep and preserve us, no matter what trials we face or what comes against us. And this promise lasts forever, we don’t have to worry about when we have run out of strength, or rest, or comfort, or help in any manner.

 

We have an endless supply of assistance coming from the Lord when we lift our eyes up above our trials and focus on him. Then we are able to receive the blessings.

 

I have recently had to be reminded of lifting my eyes off of the trial and keeping them focused on God. And no the trial hasn’t gone away, in fact I am still dealing with it, but I don’t think about it as much, and it is easier to bear because of that. I am thankful for how God reminds me to lift up my eyes and focus on my help instead of the problem.

 

Be strong and encouraged, our help does come from God and he liberally hands it out.

