Before starting this blog, I was reading in the Bible, and God really impressed upon me to do an in depth study on 2 Peter verses 5-8. I would like to share what God has shown me through this. 

 

In 2 Peter, Simon Peter is writing to the church, not just any church, but God’s people, those that are doing their best to live for God. He specifically states that he is talking to those that have received the faith (those that believe that Jesus came to die for their sins and have taken him up on his offer). And if we believe that Jesus is the savior and are doing our best to live for him each day, then he is writing to us also. In this chapter Simon Peter gives us instruction, listing out several attributes that we are to add to this faith that we already have that will help to improve our walk or life for God.

 

2 Peter 1:5-8 And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

 

Many times I have read this and thought to my self, “Sure, I have all these qualities or am doing my best to maintain them” I would ponder each for a little while and then move on but never did I stop to actually look into what I am supposed to add to my faith. God brought me up short on this a while back; I need to not only take careful head to what is in his word, but to actually think about what I am reading and not just read the words. To begin my study, I thought to go attribute by attribute and study each one to fully know what is being required of me.

 

I first looked up the word diligence; this is the way in which we are to add these qualities to our life. Webster’s states that, diligence means to esteem highly, select, the quality of being diligent (persevering and careful in work, hardworking; done with careful, steady effort; painstakingly); constant careful effort, perseverance. That is a lot to take in just in itself. To make this simpler, to have diligence is to do something with constant, steady and careful effort. So we are to with great care add each of these traits to our life, not taking the process lightly, as I had been, but to pay careful attention and to be consistent in acquiring them. For example as I mentioned above, I need to be more careful about what I read in God’s word and not just be superficial about it. In this case, diligence is something that I can also add to my life.

 

Now what are we adding all of these attributes to? Our faith and what is that? What is it founded on? Pulling out the dictionary again, faith is unquestioning belief; unquestioning belief in god, religion; complete trust, confidence, or reliance; loyalty, allegiance to some person or thing. So in this context our faith is our unquestioning belief in God, what he has and can do for us. In Hebrews 11:1 it states that “faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence on things not seen. While we were not there when Jesus died for us, we can have faith in him and his word that that is what he did. And with his sacrifice we can live a clean, holy life. Our faith needs to be founded on God and the sacrifice of his son. With this foundation, we have something that we can add to.

 

While we don’t serve God for a reward, or we shouldn’t, if we continue to read this passage, we find that there is a benefit in putting forth some effort here. 2 Peter 5:8 promises us that “if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.” They will help us to increase our faith, God will bless us with bountiful knowledge, and we will be able to help those around us see the benefit in serving God.

 

In the next week, I will look at each verse separately and the attributes that are mentioned. In the mean time, let’s make sure that our foundation is stable on God and pray that God will prepare us to improve in any why he would ask.

