A Vessel for the Lord’s Use

 What is a vessel?  A utensil for holding something

 Whose vessel am I?         What kind of vessel am I?

 In my musings about being a vessel, I thought I might as well wear a ‘V’ on my chest, and I grimaced. My mind then made the leap from vessel to victor, and I smiled.

 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us Always bearing about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our body. II Corinthians 4:7,10

However, we possess this precious treasure (the divine Light of the Gospel) in (frail, human) vessels of earth, that the grandeur and exceeding greatness of the power may  be shown to be from God and not from ourselves … so that the (resurrection) life of Jesus also may be shown forth by and in our bodies.  Amplified Bible

I can do all things through Christ that strengtheneth me. But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:13,19.

Then I thought of vocation:  a call, summons or strong inclination to perform a certain function or enter a certain career.  What is my vocation?

Mark 12:29-31  And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God is one Lord: And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.

I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called, with all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love;   Ephesians 4:1-2

Meekness – The opposite to anger and irritability of disposition.

Long-suffering –  Long-mindedness – never permitting a trial or provocation to get to the end of your patience.

Forbearing one another –  Sustaining one another – helping to support each other in all the miseries and trials of life: or, if the word be taken in the sense of bearing with each other, it may mean that, through the love of God working in our hearts, we should bear with each other’s infirmities, ignorance, etc., knowing how much others have been or are still obliged to bear with us.     

I will remember that this earthen vessel can manifest the life of Christ.

