“For all that has been, thanks. For all that will be – YES!”

Dag Hannerskjold

Acceptance, part I

What is acceptance? Acceptance is surrendering to what is: our circumstances, our feelings, our problems, our financial status, our work, our health, our relationships with other people, the delay of our dreams. Before we change anything in our life we have to recognize that this is the way it’s meant to be right now. For me, acceptance has become what I call the long sigh of the soul. It’s the closed eyes in prayer, perhaps even the quiet tears. It’s “all right,” as in “All right, You lead, I’ll follow.” And it’s “all right” as in “Everything’s is going to turn out all right.” This is simply part of the journey.

Over the years I have discovered that much of my struggle to be content despite outside circumstances has arisen when I stubbornly resisted what was actually happening in my life at the present moment. But I have also learned that when I surrender to the reality of a particular situation—when I don’t continue to resist, but accept—a softening in my soul occurs. Suddenly I was able to open up to receive all the goodness and abundance available to me because acceptance brings with it so much relief and release. It’s as if the steam of struggle has been allowed to escape from life’s pressure cooker.

What happens when we accept our circumstances? Well, first of all, we relax. Next we change our vibration, our energy pattern, and the rate of our heartbeat. Once again we’re able to tap into the boundless positive energy of the Universe. (me-God’s grace) Acceptance also illuminates reality so that we’re better able to see the next step.

Whatever situation exists in your life right now, accept it. Natalie Goldberg believes that “Our task is to say a holy yes to the real things of our life as they exist.” Cast a glance around and acknowledge what’s going on. This is my tiny kitchen with the dirty floor, this is how much I weigh, this is my checking account balance, this is where I work right now. This is what is really happening in my life at the present moment. This is okay. This is real life.

from: Simple Abundance, A Daybook of Comfort and Joy, Sarah Ban Breathnach

Accept-Websters- receive willingly, but it sometimes connotes acquiescence rather than explicit approval.

Philppians 4:4-7

Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice.

Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. KJV

A friend wrote in response to Acceptance, part I

I am uncomfortable with accepting my situation. God gave me a mind and an urge to make things better than they are.  I understand that my concept of ‘better’ may be different than yours.  I think we were put here to strive at least a little, to be uncomfortable with the way things are.  Right now I don’t like the situation I’m in with respect to the leadership of our country.  Should I just accept the situation or should I do what 2 Chron 7:14 says? Right now I think that this is the only way to go.

2 Chronicles 7:14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land. KJV

“Acceptance is surrendering to what is: our circumstances, our feelings, our problems, our financial status, our work, our health, our relationships with other people, the delay of our dreams.”

When I read this it is not with the thought I can’t do anything about these things;  rather it is realizing and receiving willingly (that God orders my steps and has  brought to this place and time for a purpose) — here is where I am. I don’t always  like or appreciate that place. Since this is where I’m at, I can choose to be thankful instead of grumbling;  and to seek for a way to improve instead of being bogged down with discontent and hopelessness, not doing anything.  By not fighting where I am in life, I can open myself up to the help and grace my Father wants to give me right where I am.

” Acceptance also illuminates reality so that we’re better able to see the next step. “

The last lines of the essay were:

Today, let go of the struggle. Allow the healing process of change to begin. You’re ready to move on.

Before I can change or improve, I must know where I am and who I am and accept me. Then I can humble myself and pray. Then I can turn from my thoughts, my ideas, my ways and my discontent. Then I can seek God’s face. Then I will hear from heaven and receive forgiveness and healing and guidance in His way for my life.

I hope this clarifies a little my slant on the essay.

I also agree with my friend. Today’s government leadership needs much prayer and

God is the answer to those needs.

Trust God for your Day, Today.

