John 14 

KJV

1 – 3 : Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. We have the promises of God, so we do not need to be troubled about the things of this life. We can have peace in our soul. As we believe in God, we can also believe in Jesus. Jesus walked on the earth, as it was nearing his time to depart he spoke these words of comfort. As you are reading this, he is preparing a place for us, a mansion, one of many. And when it is time, he will come and lead us by the hand to our reward.

6 – 7 : Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him. We can be sure of obtaining one of these mansions that Jesus has prepared by following his word. He tells us that he is the way; we have to come through him.

10 – 15 : Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works. Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake. Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it. If ye love me, keep my commandments. Jesus and the Father are one, if we truly believe in one, we will truly believe in the other. If this belief of Jesus and his power is rooted deep in our heart, he promises that we will also have the power to do great things, as long as we ask in his name. In all that we do, let it be to glorify God; proving to him our love and devotion, by keeping his commandments.

16 – 19 : And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.  I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you. Yet a little while, and the world seeth me no more; but ye see me: because I live, ye shall live also. Even though Jesus is leaving the world at this time and returning to heaven, he is not leaving his people alone. He promises that they will have a comforter, the Holy Spirit, which will live with in them. We can claim this same promise today. Because of the Spirit of Truth that is with in we have the power of all the unclean spirits. He reassures us that we won’t be left comfortless, that he will be with us and will return for us one day.

23 – 24 : Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him. He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me. Again he promises to abide with us, however this is not just a one way street, Jesus keeping all the promises while we sit back and watch, we have some responsibility in how this all ends us. Jesus states that in order for the Father to dwell with us we have to keep his sayings, if we fail to do so, we will not be found in his presence.

27-28 : Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. Ye have heard how I said unto you, I go away, and come again unto you. If ye loved me, ye would rejoice, because I said, I go unto the Father: for my Father is greater than I. He offers us peace, and not just the “Make Love not War” kind of peace, but everlasting and sure peace. The kind that reaches deep in your soul and gives comfort with there is none to be found anywhere else. There is no need to be troubled or afraid for He is always with us in our hearts and souls even though Jesus no longer walks this earth among us. He will come again and call us all to him to receive that crown and mansion in glory.

