A Lesson in Abundance from.. California Pizza Kitchen?

Emma’s appetite is sometimes a surprise to the people who see her thin little almost-eight-year-old frame and watch her devour food with the zest of a high-school football player.

We sat at California Pizza Kitchen restaurant. The rest of us were fairly satisfied but she wanted more spaghetti. She asked for more from me but was afraid the answer would be no.  I realized this was an opportunity to experiment with abundance.

“Let me ask if they do spaghetti refills, Emma. What would it hurt?”  Emma nodded with a trace of fear and hope etched on her face.

Several moments later a manager type approached the table.  “Is everything going well here?”

I looked into Emma’s little eyes as I said, “I have a strange question – do you give spaghetti refills here?”

He looked at me and repeated the request.  “Spaghetti refills?”

“Yes, she is still hungry. She would like some more.”

“Would she like a half-order or full order?” I looked at Emma.

“Are you really hungry or sort of hungry?”

“I am really hungry still,” she replied with her eyes bursting with excitement.

“Ok, I will get her a full-order then….” and away the manager went.

Emma was beside herself with excitement.  “See, Emma – you just need to ask for what you want and not worry about it. Sometimes you will get it, sometimes you won’t and either way, its really ok… isn’t it.”

She nodded and smiled and when the spaghetti came, I said, “You now have some very satisfied customers.”

He smiled back at me and said, “That’s my job.”

All we had to do was make a reasonable, albeit stretching the conventional, request.
All he had to do was honor the request and bring us exactly what we asked to receive.
The final action: receiving the blessing with gratitude, shining the light on the abundance which is really always there when we….
Ask – Open – and Receive.
Julie Jordan Scott, 2005

John 4:13
Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again:  But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. KJV

Trust God for your day, Today

