David, himself a shepherd, penned the Twenty-third Psalm as a comprehensive tribute to the Lord. He encompasses in this short poem at least fifteen provisions that are made for us when we follow the Lord as our Shepherd.

I shall not be in want for…..

1. Rest – for He maketh me to lie down in green pastures
2. Peace – for He leadeth me beside the still waters
3. Restoration – for He restoreth my soul
4. Guidance – for He leadeth me in paths of righteousness
5. Honor – for His name’s sake
6. Hope – for I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
7. Courage – for I will fear no evil
8. Companionship – for Thou art with me
9. Comfort – for Thy rod and Thy staff comfort me
10. Sustenance – for Thou preparest a table before me
11. Vindication – in the presence of my enemies
12. Blessing – Thou anointest my head with oil
13. Fulness – for My cup runneth over
14. Abundant Life– for goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life
15. Eternal Security – for I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever

As you can see, there is nothing left out. No wonder David said, “I shall not want!” The Lord gives us everything we need when we follow Him as our Shepherd.
                                James Ryle

Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant, Make you perfect in every good work to do his will, working in you that which is wellpleasing  in his sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.    
                Heb 13:20-21

Trust God for your day…Today

