Recently I have had the opportunity to do a lot of weeding. This particular area that I was working in had a lot of stones in the dry ground. It was difficult work, but really rewarding when I saw the area clear of unsightly weeds. God used this time to give me an object lesson. It was good for me and I would like to share…

Weeds that are growing in stony ground are hard to pull. In order for the weeds to be completely eradicated, you have to get the roots out. However their roots get entangled with the rocks and since the ground is dry, it’s hard to get your tools in deep enough to loosen the rocks and get the roots free.

To parallel this with our life, the weeds are the fruit or result of a deeper problem. In order to completely get rid of the outward signs of a problem, the root of the issue must be delt with and removed. If our ground, or heart is hard and filled with stones it will be difficult for the master gardener to gently pull those weeds with their roots out of our lives. If our ground is so hard that we hold on to the roots of the issue, just allowing the plant to be broken and removed, the weeds are sure to return.

In Psalms we are cautioned against hardening our hearts. Psalms 95:8-11 reads:

“Harden not your heart, as in the provocation, and as in the day of temptation in the wilderness: When your fathers tempted me, proved me, and saw my work. Forty years long was I grieved with this generation, and said, It is a people that do err in their heart, and they have not known my ways: Unto whom I sware in my wrath that they should not enter into my rest.”

If we harden our hearts we won’t be able to have that close relationship with God. He doesn’t want to abide among the thorns of weeds. He wants to work the ground of our heart, making it soft and fertile, ready to grow beautiful plants full of good fruit.

God isn’t pleased with a hard heart, he can’t work it. Stony hearts are independent and not dependent on him. They don’t work well in relationships and they aren’t humble.  They don’t want God to work in their ground, tending their lives taking care of them, pulling weeds and pruning. Yes all those things hurt the flesh when God shows us that we need to give up something, but when we allow the pruning to happen, the bloom is much brighter in its time.

God promises to take our stony heart and give us one of flesh.

“And I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within you; and I will take the stony heart out of their flesh, and will give them an heart of flesh: That they may walk in my statutes, and keep mine ordinances, and do them: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God. But as for them whose heart walketh after the heart of their detestable things and their abominations, I will recompense their way upon their own heads, saith the Lord GOD.” Ezekiel 11:19-21

If we have a pliable heart, then when issues and attitudes arise, they are more easily gotten rid of. God can quickly help us to see our need and deal with the root of the matter at its inception or shortly after, before the weed grows so big that it takes over our lives. Let us be careful to keep a soft and pliable heart, easily worked and tended. God loves to have humble and tender hearts to work with; they produce the sweetest and most beautiful fruit, all which are a glory to him.

Allow God to get replace your hard stony heart with one of flesh and you will be amazed by the beauty and satisfaction that follows.

