An inheritance of virtues

Posted on June 17, 2010 by a simple twist of faith

There are many things my children will not experience because I decided to stay home.  Some of these things could be filed in the  “fun” category: For example, in the near future, we will not able to fly out to California, and Colorado to visit relatives , enjoy a family cruise, or spend an entire week at a Disney resort.  Some of these things could be filed in the “education” category. Currently, we had to drastically reduce the amount deposited into the 529K college funds for our girls.  We also decided to have me home school our kindergartener in the fall rather than enroll her in our church’s parochial school.  And some things could be filed in the “inheritance” category.  We have been greatly curtailed the amount we invest fully in our respective 401K and IRA accounts and our life insurance policies. Sometimes, I worry if the girls will have enough of a safety net.  But then again, I always worry…

The other day I was reading about Saints Basil and Emmelia.  They were the parents to FOUR saints, bishops Basil the Great, Gregory Nyssa, and Peter of Sebaste, and of Saint Macrina, virgin. The parents were exiled, persecuted, and martyred.  According to the USCCB website, these two saints “ bequeathed to their children an inheritance of virtues.”

It got me thinking, am I bequeathing to my children an inheritance of virtues? Sure, I am staying home now, and spend much more time with my daughters than I ever did before, but am I make to best use of the time, talent, and treasure that God have given me when it comes to my children?

Kids learn by not what you say, but what you do and how you react to the world around you. What am I teaching my girls? Are my actions examples of love and patience?  How about taking time for my relationship to God? Am I teaching my children the values of self-control and discipline?  What about service to others and sacrifice? I can honestly say some days this is not the case. I need to do better…    (underlining mine).

Philippians 1:27 Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ:   (your daily living)

Philippians 1:27 Only be sure as citizens so to conduct yourselves [that] your manner of life [will be] worthy of the good news (the Gospel) of Christ amplified

1 Timothy 4:12 Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

Looking back (isn’t hindsight great), I find areas of child nurturing I wish I had done differently. So this post has stirred my thoughts and made me glad. I can still take instruction. I can be more careful of my actions and reactions and be a good grannie.

Titus 2:3 The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness…..

Trust God for your day…Today

