Recently I have been given the opportunity to work with the children at my church. This came with much surprise, but with the leading of the Lord.

Before I was approached on the subject, in the Young Adult group that I am apart of we were discussing visions and mission statements, both for us individually and as a class. As I was preparing my individual vision and mission statement, my mind kept returning to the thought of being willing. During this time I was asked to consider assisting in the teaching of the 6 year old class.

In my prayer and meditation on whether or not God would have me move in this direction, I looked up “being willing” in the Bible. God spoke to me through these scriptures, 1 Chronicles 28:9-10. It takes place when God is telling David that his son, Solomon, will build the temple. God chose Solomon to complete this instead of David because of the sin that David had committed. The scriptures read,

And thou, Solomon my son, know thou the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind: for the LORD searcheth all hearts, and understandeth all the imaginations of the thoughts: if thou seek him, he will be found of thee; but if thou forsake him, he will cast thee off for ever. Take heed now; for the LORD hath chosen thee to build an house for the sanctuary: be strong, and do it.

Here God calls Solomon to remember the God of his father, and to seek him for wisdom and instruction for his life. He instructs service to God with a perfect heart and willing mind. If we have these 2 things, God can use us effectively to win souls. God reminds Solomon the benefits of seeking God and the penalties of refusing him. He then encourages and admonishes Solomon. God chose him for this special task, a big responsibility, but with God’s blessing Solomon with have the strength to complete it.

In further study on “willing” I found the definition of this to be:

  1. favorably disposed or consenting (to do something specified or implied): not objecting
  2. acting, giving, etc. readily and cheerfully: as, a willing assistant
  3. done, given, offered, etc. readily or gladly; voluntary
  4. of the power of choice; volitional

So to be willing one must perform the task with a good attitude. One isn’t “willing” to do something if the task is done begrudgingly, with reluctance, or negativity.

I also looked up these scriptures in the Amplified Bible, they read:

And you, Solomon my son, know the God of your father – have personal knowledge of Him, be acquainted with and understand Him: appreciate, heed and cherish Him – and serve Him with a blameless heart and a willing mind. For the Lord searches all hearts and minds, and understands all the wanderings of the thoughts. If you seek Him – enquiring for and of Him, and requiring Him as your first and vital necessity – you will find Him: but if you forsake Him, He will cast you off for ever! Take heed now; for the Lord has chosen you to build a house for the sanctuary. Be strong and do it!

When I read this, I was challenged also. God had chosen me; I don’t feel qualified or worthy to be a teacher. I don’t have any experience as one. But he chose me to build the sanctuary of these little souls, I have to be strong, trusting in God and do it.

Be willing to follow God when he calls you, trust in Him; Be strong and do it!

