It is a new year with a new look, but the message is still the same.

God is a big God and he has a plan for each and every one of us. His desire is that we live Holy or with out sin. We in ourselves cannot do this, but he made the way possible when he gave his son, Jesus, as a sacrifice for our sins. When we accept Christ as our Savior and turn from our sins, God is faithful to forgive us and provide us with strength and grace to live sin free. It definitely is the best life.

I haven’t been as faithful to this blog in the past few months as I would like. I am sorry for that, but I have a plan for the future.

First – On Thursday night at church we were challenged to make a list of those things in our life that need to change this year for us to draw closer to God.

My list:
–          increase time in studying God’s word
–          increase prayer time
–          don’t be as quick to judge people
–          be more willing to help those in need
–          search for and take opportunities to share the Gospel
–          be careful to not get comfortable in Salvation but keep the challenge and excitement fresh
–          increase of patience
–          don’t procrastinate with God’s work

This list may grow as the year continues, but I plan to use this blog in a why that it holds me accountable for gaining the victory in these areas. As I have victory or challenges I will share my studies on and in these areas.

I challenge you to make a list. How can God better use you this day? What things might you need to change for God to use you? Seek God and ask him to search you. He has the power to help you draw closer to him.
Second – I don’t think I have read the Bible cover to cover. I know I have tried and often would get bogged down in the “begats”. This year I am challenging myself to read the Bible completely. It will be apart of my daily study, but it won’t take its place. A friend of mine had a list of the scriptures to read so that the Bible can be read chronologically. This appealed to me. I found that list and will post each day what those scriptures are so that you can follow along. We can discuss the different points that we read. I invite you to read along and join in on the discussion.
Third – At the end of last year, we moved some of our Bible study teachers around at Church. There was a need for a teacher in one of the elementary classes. I was asked to take this position. As we go through this year I will share the lessons that are brought to the kids as well as the lessons they bring to me. I believe we can learn from all ages. Christ told us that we needed to be as the little children. In the Children’s Bible class, we are making a chain of things we are thankful for and we learn verses. I will share those also. I believe thankfulness and God’s word are good things to learn at a young age. Feel free to add your “thankfuls” and learn the memory verses with us.
Join us this year as we draw closer to God and share how he helps us in our daily walk with him.

