This week I got some news that could be unsettling. And I knew that I there were 2 ways for me to handle it. I could get depressed and worry about what the future might hold. I could pull into myself and not trust. I could do my own thing and get frantic trying to find a solution to the problem. Or I can trust in God to take care of it. I can give it to him. I can continue to do what I know I need to do and let God handle the rest. This isn’t saying that I’m not concerned about my future, but that I know that God has a plan and will bring it to pass if I let him have all control.

As I was going through my morning the song His Eye is on the Sparrow came to mind.

 

His Eye is on the Sparrow

Civilla D. Martin

Why should I feel discouraged
Why should the shadows come
Why should my heart be lonely
And long for heaven and home
When Jesus is my portion
My constant friend is He
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

Chorus:
I sing because I’m happy
I sing because I’m free
For His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

Let not your heart be troubled
His tender word I hear
And resting on His goodness
I lose my doubts and fears
I draw Thee closer to me
A constant friend is He
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

Repeat Chorus

And I know He watches me

I was reminded that there is no need to be worried about the future. If God is concerned about the sparrows, wouldn’t he be concerned about us? In Luke 12 we are told that we are more to God than the sparrows. We have no need to worry, for God is watching over and protecting us.

As I was thinking of this I went to the scriptures looking for a specific verse and while I didn’t find the one I wanted I found 2 others that were just what I needed.

Philippians 4:19 – But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

And speaking of Abraham:

Romans 4:18-22 – Who against hope believed in hope, that he might become the father of many nations, according to that which was spoken, So shall thy seed be. And being not weak in faith, he considered not his own body now dead, when he was about an hundred years old, neither yet the deadness of Sara’s womb: He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God; And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform. And therefore it was imputed to him for righteousness.

I was so encouraged. God has promised to supply ALL my needs, not my wants, not my desires (even though he does consider them), but my needs. Because of this promise, I can trust as Abraham did. His situation was more impossible than mine and he staggered not. He trusted that God would come through on his word and do as he promised.

We can hold on to this. When life brings trials our way, we can trust in God and his promises. There is not one promise that he as broken, one prayer he hasn’t answered, one time that he has left us alone. God is. And we can have confidence in him.

(photo borrowed from Birds of the Bible)

