This week I started to do some reading about what God requires from us on a daily basis. Salvation isn’t just a Sunday thing, but an every day service to God. I was challenged when I read in Exodus 16 about God’s provision to the Children of Israel after they left Egypt.

 Exodus 16:1-5  And they took their journey from Elim, and all the congregation of the children of Israel came unto the wilderness of Sin, which is between Elim and Sinai, on the fifteenth day of the second month after their departing out of the land of Egypt. And the whole congregation of the children of Israel murmured against Moses and Aaron in the wilderness:  And the children of Israel said unto them, Would to God we had died by the hand of the LORD in the land of Egypt, when we sat by the flesh pots, and when we did eat bread to the full; for ye have brought us forth into this wilderness, to kill this whole assembly with hunger. Then said the LORD unto Moses, Behold, I will rain bread from heaven for you; and the people shall go out and gather a certain rate every day, that I may prove them, whether they will walk in my law, or no. And it shall come to pass, that on the sixth day they shall prepare that which they bring in; and it shall be twice as much as they gather.

 The Children of Israel were complaining (again) about the lack of food in the wilderness. Moses went to God and God provided the people with Manna daily. It was expected of them to gather the bread every day and twice as much on the sixth day.

When I read this, I thought of God’s daily provision for us, our strength, food, mental health, a job, ability to speak and to enjoy life, his grace through each trial, and faith in him to meet each need. The list of daily benefits from God could go on for quite awhile, we just have to gather them to us. We have to accept each gift, each provision, each blessing. If we stay inside our tent, inside our self, we will never know the blessings that God has for us that day. Part of our allegiance to God is shown through us gathering the bread of this life that God is raining down on us.

At this time in my life, there is a lot of uncertainty as to what the future will hold. Instead of focusing on those things that I am concerned about, I was challenged to open my eyes to see the provision that God has given me each day. The blossoming trees, the birds in the air, enough food to fill my belly, lots of rest at night, friends that I can talk to, a family that loves me, a job that provides for the current financial needs…and the list can continue.

I can’t say that I am aware of each gift during the day, but I am trying to keep my eyes open to the blessings of God that he abundantly gives his people.

