My life has been quite uncertain lately. My job is not very stable, my home may be taken from me, there is great sickness in my family and yet through all of this I have peace. When people ask how I am, I can only say that I am good. God is good. It is because of him that I can go on. My trust in him is what keeps me on a level keel when the sea of life is tossing.

In my devotions a while back I was looking for scriptures in which I can continue to place my trust. I had been reading in Hebrews about those that have gone before us in faith. I was at the last chapter and this is what I found.

King James Version – Heb 13:1-8
Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.
So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.

I have a couple other Bibles that I use for reference and I looked up the same passage in them.

The Amplified Version – Hebrews 13:5-6
Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money – [including] greed, avarice, lust and craving for earthly possessions – and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He (God) Himself said, I will not in any way leave you with out support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless, not forsake not let [you] down, [relax My hold on you]. – Assuredly not!
So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say, The Lord is my Helper, I will not be seized with alarm – I will not fear or dread or be terrified. What can man do to me?

Interlinear Greek-English New Testament – Hebrews 13:5-6
Without love of money [let your] manner of life [be], satisfied with present [circumstances]; he for has said, In no wise thee will I leave, not in any wise thee will I forsake.
So that we may boldly say, [The] Lord [is] to me a helper, and I will not be afraid: what shall do to me man?

I have held on to these verses. We can feel contentment in our lives even though it seams that the bottom has fallen out because God has promised to be our provider. With this confidence we can boldly and with experienced knowledge say “Who or what can come against me? God is my helper, I don’t have to be afraid.”

Because of this we can be well in our soul, spirit, and attitude even though life isn’t well.

