Part of my Bible reading has been Psalms 119., I’ve read one section at a time, re-reading it, comparing it to the Amplified version, reading Clarke’s thoughts. I finished the Psalm yesterday. When I think back on the Psalm two things come to mind: many times when the psalmist used the term I will KEEP. I have KEPT the Amplified used these words:

Psalms 119:44  So shall I keep thy law continually for ever and ever.

Amp:   I will keep Your law continually, forever and ever [hearing, receiving, loving, and obeying it].

Psalms 119:55-56 I have remembered thy name, O LORD, in the night, and have kept thy law This I had, because I kept thy precepts

Amp:   I have [earnestly] remembered Your name, O Lord, in the night, and I have observed Your law.This I have had [as the gift of Your grace and as my reward]: that I have kept Your precepts [hearing, receiving, loving, and obeying them].

I was struck every time I read these words at the completeness in describing KEEP.

I found that David might have been a little impatient in verse  126 when he says:

It is time for thee, LORD, to work . . .

How often I have felt that way, ‘Lord, I just want to see some action, I believe you are working, I believe you have all things under control, but I just want to see something’. God didn’t chastise David for his impatience or humanness. God realizes I am so limited. And once in a while, I get a glimpse, even if it is over my shoulder, and I am thankful.

I agree with Clarke’s as  he ends his commentary on psalms 119 with these words. Though there be a continual recurrence of the same words, which would of itself prevent it from having a pleasing effect upon the ear, yet these words are so connected with a vast variety of others, which show their force and meaning in still new and impressive points of light, that attention is still excited, and devotion kept alive, during the whole reading.. . . . To no Psalm can its own words be better applied, Psalms 119:18

“Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law.”

I’m sure I’ll refer to Psalms 119 again, it is such a treasure house of encouragement.

Trust God for your day, ….Today

