Today I cleaned out my email box, after letting it sit for 3-4 days. I had the expected assortment of junk, okay stuff and a few treasures. Our family and extended family have been experiencing losses, deaths, sickness, disappointments , yeah, we have been living life.  And we are learning that it is okay to cry. It is okay to show we hurt. It is okay not to like what has happened. It is okay to question ‘why?’ It is okay to feel ‘bummmed’! Some plans have been rearranged. Some plans shattered and there is no way to put them together. Though it all, we still have hope. We still know  “Our God Changes Not’! We still are a family and we still have friends.

This post was written by a mom whose small son was killed by a dresser falling on him, while all the siblings were gathered around. The older ones couldn’t lift the dresser  and the younger ones stood in shock.   She writes “It’s okay to make me cry”.

“Sitting in the church nursery, nursing my son, chatting with the lady next to me. Conversation turns to the children and to the accident. She had heard sort of what happened, but not exactly what happened.

I choked.

Not tears streaming while sobs catch my words kind of choke. Just a tightening of the chest and stinging of the eyes kind of choke while I hesitate for just a moment before figuring out what to say next.

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to make you cry.”

“No. It’s OK. Really. Sometimes it’s nice to just talk.”

Because seriously, it is OK if you make me cry. I’m used to it. It isn’t anything you said. You didn’t hurt me. You didn’t make me think about anything I’m not already thinking about. All. The. Time.

And really, you didn’t even “make” me cry. You just came alongside me when I needed a friend and, for a few moments at least, allowed me to share my grief.

http://roscommonacres.com/2011/08/its-ok-to-make-me-cry/

Proverbs 18:24b  ..: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.

Crying with you today

Trust God for your day, ….Today

