HI, Friday morning errands to get ready to go south to attend birthday dinner for a brother and his wife, .Their birthdays are two days apart, hers first so you know what kind of statements she hears. Mother and all my siblings, their wives and an significant other were at the dinner. Good food, Good catching up and Good birthday cake back home at Mom’s. We spent the night at Mom’s and after more visiting we left to return home driving Hiway 49 from Oakhurst to Highway 16 then to Sacramento. Highway 49 has been recently repaved so road was nice. Repaving, however, did not take away any of the switch backs and snake type trail through the foothills. I was glad I was traveling this area now instead of 150 years ago. We lunched in Sonora at the Diamondback (is there a theme here? When you walk in the first aroma is garlic what more can I say!) after I checked out the kitchen store – neat and the yarn shop – can you believe a ball of sock yarn insisted on coming home with me. Home safe and sound . Sunday was our normal routine of morning and evening worship services and lunch with our daughter (most Sundays), a little knitting and a couple hands of ‘May I’ with friends after church.

So now I’m ready to start this week.

 

I came across this quote in my wandering and had to stop and think.  I have struggled with the thought of schedules and to do lists  and routines, etc. Many times when I have tried these, I would end up still procrastinating and even rebelling against my own directions.

Schedules might be limiting…but disorder is more limiting. My cherished spontaneity was pointless when I didn’t have the time or energy to enjoy it. -Holly Pierlot

Organizing my house and my stuff, I’m into that and find a sense of control from that order. When we were in the midst of moving , the disorder was very disconcerting for me. When I was helping at Mother-in-law’s in her strict daily routine I found a peacefulness and kind of security in knowing what to expect.  So I’m considering –what is the balance for me?

I like the underlying thought in the quote; when there is order and chores are done in a timely manner; when the opportunity arises for spontaneity—I’m ready with no guilt.  that sounds good.

God has design in order

2 Chronicles 13:11  And they burn unto the LORD every morning and every evening burnt sacrifices and sweet incense: the shewbread also set they in order upon the pure table; and the candlestick of gold with the lamps thereof, to burn every evening: for we keep the charge of the LORD our God; but ye have forsaken him.

Zachariah received a blessing from faithfully following the order

Luke 1:8  And it came to pass, that while he executed the priest’s office before God in the order of his course, ….

Order can bring stability, consistency and dependability to my life

Colossians 2:5  For though I be absent in the flesh, yet am I with you in the spirit, joying and beholding your order, and the stedfastness of your faith in Christ.

It’s time for me to focus on the blessings of routine instead of the assumed drawbacks.

Now where do I start?

Trust God for your day, ….Today

