She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness. Proverbs 31:26

The law of kindness is that a rule, a commandment, a guideline not to be broken? Should all my words stand before this law? Do my words comply with this law? Do my words measure up? Are my words adorned with kindness? And not just the words but how does my tone of voice sound: cutting, sarcastic, belittling.. . ?

Kind   —  Of a friendly, generous, or warm-hearted nature.   Showing sympathy or understanding; charitable:

Kindness  acting out being kind

“In her tongue is the law of kindness – This is the most distinguishing excellence of this woman. There are very few of those who are called managing women who are not lords over their husbands, tyrants over their servants, and insolent among their neighbors. But this woman, with all her eminence and excellence, was of a meek and quiet spirit. Blessed woman!”  ~Clarke’s Commentary

Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; But let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price. 1 Peter 3:3-4

“A meek and quiet spirit – That is, a mind that will not give provocation to others, nor receive irritation by the provocation of others. Meekness will prevent the first; quietness will guard against the last”.  ~Clarke’s Commentary

The Proverb’s 31 Woman has been lifted up as our example. At times I feel I’ll never reach those heights, but kindness, I think that is doable if I pause before I speak and ask for Christ’s words, Christ’s love , Christ’s compassion to be the motivation of my words.

 This is my prayer today. Okay, keep the shield up……… an attack/test is coming.

Trust God for your day, ….Today

